2014 National Baseball HOF Election Results Wednesday

2014 Basball HOF

The results of the 2014 National Baseball Hall of Fame ballot will be announced exclusively on MLB Network and simulcast on MLB.com on Wednesday, January 8 live at 2:00 p.m. ET.

The announcement will be part of a three-hour live show beginning at 12:00 p.m. ET anchored by MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger, Brian Kenny and Heidi Watney, and including the first interviews with any electees immediately following the announcement, plus analysis from Bob Costas, Harold Reynolds, John Smoltz, Hall of Fame award-winning baseball writer Peter Gammons and Hall of Fame voters Jon Heyman, Ken Rosenthal, Joel Sherman and Tom Verducci, and segments analyzing the ballot from a sabermetric perspective.

Live coverage and analysis of the Hall of Fame announcement will be featured throughout the day on MLB Network beginning with Hot Stove at 9:00 a.m. ET and continuing on Intentional Talk, Clubhouse Confidential and MLB Tonight starting at 3:00 p.m. ET.

Tomorrow, January 7 at 9:00 p.m. ET, Costas, Ron Darling, Reynolds, Chris “Mad Dog” Russo, Rosenthal and Sherman will debate the first-year eligible nominees, returning candidates from previous elections, the election process, and candidates who deserve more consideration during a special Hall of Fame roundtable show. The day after the announcement, MLB Network and MLB.com will air the National Baseball Hall of Fame press conference featuring the electees live from New York on Thursday, January 9 at 11:00 a.m. ET, followed by in-studio interviews with the electees at MLB Network later that day.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) 2014 Hall of Fame ballot features 36 candidates with 17 holdovers from previous elections, including Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Jack Morris, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling and Alan Trammell, plus 19 newcomers, including Tom Glavine, Jeff Kent, Greg Maddux, Mike Mussina and Frank Thomas.

Managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre were elected to the Hall of Fame in December by the Expansion Era Committee. Cox, La Russa and Torre will be inducted along with any candidates who receive votes on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast from the BBWAA vote. Eric Nadel, who has spent the last 35 years as the voice of the Texas Rangers, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting. Roger Angell, a senior editor at The New Yorker who has been writing about baseball for more than 50 years, has been named the 2014 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award presented annually to a sportswriter for meritorious contributions to baseball writing. Joe Garagiola, who has helped others in the game through his role in founding The Baseball Assistance Team (B.A.T.) and the National Spit Tobacco Education Program, has been selected as the 2014 winner of the Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented to an individual for extraordinary efforts to enhance baseball’s positive impact on society.

The 2014 National Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Sunday, July 27 and air exclusively on MLB Network and MLB.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s